Summit Metro Parks We're Your Back Yard

Park Commissioners

About the Board

The park district's governing body is the five-person Board of Park Commissioners, appointed by the Summit County Probate Judge. Commissioners are volunteers who serve without compensation.

Bylaws (2.4 MB) - Revised January 10, 2017

About The Commissioners


Joel D. Bailey

S. Theresa Carter

Herb Newman

Mark A. Spisak

Rev. Dr. Curtis T. Walker, Sr, Chair

Lisa King, Executive Director

2024 Regular BOARD MeetingS

Board meetings are held at 11:30 a.m. inside the visitors center at F.A. Seiberling Nature Realm, 1828 Smith Rd., Akron, Ohio. 

All petitions, applications and communications intended for consideration by the board must be in writing and received by the executive director at least five business days before the board meeting.

January 9 July 9
February 13 August 13
March 12* September 10*
April 9 October 8
May 14* November 12*
June 11 December 10

*Commissioners, who are also trustees for the Summit Metro Parks Foundation, will conduct a Foundation meeting immediately following the regular board meeting.

For information, please call the administrative offices at 330-867-5511, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.